What is a Mevushal or non-Mevushal wine?
Kosher wine is wine made and handled exclusively by mitzvot-practicing Jews. If the wine was made by Gentiles, or handled by Gentiles, it would no longer be kosher. (The closed bottle can be touched by a Gentile).
Wine must be kosher for the following rabbinical reasons.
1. Wine is something that unites people, so the wise men understood that if one shared wine with his non-Jewish neighbor, he would end up taking their daughters as daughters-in-law and giving his daughters to marry his sons, which it would imply the assimilation and disappearance of our people.
2. Wine was always used to make libations in the traditional sacrifices of idolatry, so if an idolater makes a wine, it is possible that he thought of taking advantage of that wine to worship his idol.
VOLCÁN MERLOT WINE FROM THE ODEM MOUNTAIN WINERY
3. Sometimes the sages give us a reason for a ban, but there are also hidden reasons that they don't give us. The Kabbalah considers that drinking non-kosher wine obstructs the heart and brain for the apprehension of divinity and the Torah.
Mevushal is boiled wine. It is boiled to allow a gentile to handle it, since boiled wine is unfit to serve as an offering to an idol, and therefore remains kosher even if touched by a gentile.
|YARDEN ROSE WINE FROM BODEGA GOLAN||YARDEN HEIGHTSWINE WHITE WINE FROM THE GOLAN WINERY|
Another important detail is that for the wine to be suitable for making Kiddush, or for the four glasses of the Pesach Seder, it must be pure grape wine, and it must not be diluted with more than 50% of other liquids. In today's industry, wine is often diluted with water or other juices.
Today, there is a wide variety of Kosher wines, both mevushal and non-mevushal, so there are no more excuses.
Photo: Maria Orlova on Pexels